Science Fairs

On Saturday January 25th I was reminded of the good old elementary school days when we had science fair projects to do. When I was in 2nd and 3rd grade I was one of those kids who had my parents basically doing the project for me. Good thing I got a hold of what I needed to do by 5th grade. Anyway, I was judging science fair projects done by 7th and 8th graders. I did not do a science fair project in 7th or 8th grade and I was pleased because I did not find it very fun. I found it to be a pain and just another thing I needed to get out of the way. But these 7th and 8th graders did a pretty good job on these projects. Even if their appearance was lacking (which one was severely lacking) an extra step needed to be taken to go past the not so good look and read the content, which was probably just as good as the best ones.
not that pretty project Ok so one science fair project did not look so great but I had to say his (or her or the parents) content was not so bad. It was about stains and he (or her or the parents) developed a pretty good experiment to test his hypothesis.
Another project was just phenomenal with beautiful art-work, such an in-depth lab report (it makes the ones I do in high school look not that good)and interesting topic. His (or her or the parents) topic was about hand santizier against liquid soap and water. this is so good science fair project The last project I want to discuss which was personally my favorite was the windmill project. His (or her or the parents) project was about windmills and if they have the ability to power trains. What this kid did was size the entire scenario down to play toys (basically a sized down train and windmill to fit in his living room) and he tested it out. Of course I’m not sure on how good of a way it is to test this hypothesis out, but its definitely an experiment and what this demonstrates is nothing but brilliance, 7th or 8th grade or but I’m pretty sure this one isn’t but parent style. Anyway I loved this project and the little windmill model. On the whole all them were really good and it was really difficult in the end when I had to pick a favorite.
windmill sciene fair

One thought on “Science Fairs

  1. I remember when my parents used to help me with my science projects! I agree with you that the projects weren’t fun, but they were informative. I used to be able to tell when a person’s project was done by their parents or themselves, which I thought was really funny! Hope you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

